Question about my RSS feed and those social network sharing buttons.


I spent about an entire night here trying to fix the RSS feeds to both my blogs. I went to Feedburner and somehow both feeds came out differently instead of identical but to different feeds. I finally figured it out but can you check out the Feedburner feed at the top right to see if it works, if you’ve been using it already. Not the WordPress RSS feed but the Feedburner feed.

And what really annoys me beyond belief are those social network buttons I’ve been putting into every post on my other blog for years and I recently found out that they don’t work the way they should. I’m trying to find an alternative now but I also thought how I can’t remember ever getting a referral from a social network other than Twitter. I get referrals from Twitter but never from anywhere else. So if I can’t find an alternative, I’m thinking of ditching the sharing social network button and just keep the Feedburner feed & the new WordPress Twitter button at the bottom left of every post. The new Twitter button on the bottom left of every post work the way they should posting the title of my posts instead of two identical url links. How infuriating!!

If you’ve been using the Feedburner feed, please check it out at the top right of the blog. Not the WordPress RSS feed but the Feedburner link. Both of those Feedburner feeds are now identical, it seems, on both my blogs. And the Twitter button at the bottom left of each post work great. But those social network & Rss AddThis buttons I’ve been using for almost three years at the bottom of every single post DO NOT WORK the way it should!!

Thanks!

This entry was posted in personal. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Question about my RSS feed and those social network sharing buttons.

  1. frog says:

    I looked into it more after last time we talked and I can definitely see why you like WordPress. But all these little problems you’re talking about, that’s what I was saying about WordPress. It’s just sloppily written software. As long as you stay with WordPress, you’re going to have to put up with stuff like that.

  2. Darrah Ford says:

    Oh it wasn’t the WordPress feed. I was trying to match the same settings with the Feedburner feeds with both my blogs and it failed and took forever. Then I don’t know if people’s readers that they use can still read the feeds.

    I found a solution to the sharing button that someone on the WordPress forum actually fixed the button on their own.

    I stay here because if anything happens, we get help quickly from an actual person. Look at the Blogspot forum and people begging for days/weeks for help.

Leave a Reply

